Dessert: Sweet Ricotta Pear Ribbons with Roasted Honey Walnuts and Figs

IMG_3121 copy

I can eat all the zucchini pasta and cucumber noodles in the world, but desserts will always be my downfall. As much as I love vegetables (and I really do love them) and eating healthy, I can’t resist chocolate. Chocolate mousse, chocolate molten lava cake, chocolate covered nuts, chocolate cupcakes, chocolate bars, chocolate ice cream…. you could dip a rock in chocolate and I’d probably try to eat it.

My second favorite dessert? Cheese plates. Holy moly – give me a slice of wheat bread topped with manchego, and I’ll be curled up in a ball under the table, sucking my thumb.

Naturally, my next thought was: how can I Inspiralize my cheese plates and my favorite chocolate desserts to make them a bit healthier? Well, here goes my first attempt at an Inspiralized dessert. What do you think?

Sweet Ricotta Pear Ribbons with Roasted Honey Walnuts and Figs 

Serving size: 2
Time to prepare: 5 minutes
Time to cook: 10 minutes

Ingredients

  • 2 pears, peeled and spiralized, Blade A**
  • 6 black mission figs, halved
  • 1/2 cup ricotta cheese*
  • 1/3 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • more honey to drizzle

*I used whole milk ricotta but feel free to use part-skim to save about 3 grams of fat and 22 calories per serving.

**Here’s how to spiralize a pear:

IMG_3073

IMG_3075

Directions

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Prepare two baking dishes lined with parchment paper. In one dish, place your figs. Dab the sliced sides lightly with honey, using your fingers. Place in the oven for 10 minutes.

IMG_3062

In the other dish, place your walnuts. Drizze with honey and mix with your fingers to coat the walnuts evenly. Three minutes before the figs are done, add in the walnuts. Remove both from the oven when done and remove from parchment paper immediately and set aside on a plate or in a bowl.

IMG_3067

While your nuts and figs are baking, pour the ricotta cheese into a food processer and pulse until whipped. Place in a bowl and add in the vanilla extract and honey. Taste and add more vanilla/honey to your preference.

IMG_3113

IMG_3116

Time to assemble the dessert! Arrange your pear ribbons on a plate as the base for this dessert. Create a circle using the figs and walnuts (save a few.) Top with sweet ricotta and remaining walnuts and figs.

IMG_3080

IMG_3121

IMG_3127

IMG_3131

IMG_3145

What a delicious way to start the weekend…

2 thoughts on “Dessert: Sweet Ricotta Pear Ribbons with Roasted Honey Walnuts and Figs

Leave a Reply

