Farmer’s Market Thursday: Baked Zucchini Spaghetti

IMG_4659 copy

Mozzarella. Abbreviated most lovably as “mootz” and most notably sung in an Italian melody as “moots-ah-rell” at my grandparents’ house. The best pizza I ever had was on the Amalfi coast (in Italy)…. a thin crusted pizza baked simply with slices of mozzarella cheese over a blank canvas of tomato sauce, topped with drizzles of olive oil, salt, pepper and basil. So good – can someone teleport me there right now?

Since I can’t get to Italy right now, I’ll have to make something mozzarella-y in my apartment and pretend. To my delight, the Farmer’s Market yesterday had a beautiful ball of fresh mozzarella, made at a local farm. How could I not grab it? Mozzarella cheese is so inviting – it looks like a mini pillow.

I decided to melt it. On top of spaghetti. Baked spaghetti! I chopped up the cheese into little cubes, layered it on top of a bowl of turkey bolognese zucchini pasta, broiled it for a few minutes, and loved every second of my life while I devoured it. Yum. Best part? I used an aluminum foil baking bowl, so no plates to clean.

Enjoy this one when you’re having a bad day and need a pick-me-up. It certainly tastes like comfort food – without the heavy calories, carb, and fat content!

Baked Zucchini Spaghetti (Turkey) Bolognese

Serving size: 3
Time to prepare: 5-7 minutes
Time to cook: 25-30 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 mozzarella cheese ball, chopped into 1 cup of small “chunks” or 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • All of the ingredients from Bikini Bolognese
  • 3 baking bowls (pictured below)

Directions

Put the oven to broil.

Cook Bikini Bolognese, according to the recipe. Once the zucchini is cooked, divide Bikini Bolognese among the baking bowls.

IMG_4636

Top each bowl with even amounts of mozzarella cheese.

IMG_4637

Put in the oven for 3 minutes, monitoring to make sure the cheese melts but does not burn. If there is a faint browning, it’s done!

IMG_4647

IMG_4651

IMG_4656

Leave a Reply

